SANTA ANITA ANNOUNCES 2018-19 WINTER MEET STAKES SCHEDULE, HEADED BY THE GRADE I MALIBU & LA BREA STAKES OPENING DAY, DECEMBER 26

A TOTAL OF 60 STAKES, INCLUDING 34 GRADED EVENTS (EIGHT OF THEM GRADE I) TO BE OFFERED THROUGH APRIL 7, WITH ADDITIONAL SPRING STAKES SCHEDULE TO FOLLOW

 

ARCADIA, Calif. (Nov. 14, 2018)–Santa Anita Park, which will open for its 82nd Winter Meeting on Wednesday, Dec. 26, has announced its Winter Meet Stakes Schedule, which will include a total of 60 added money races, highlighted by 34 graded stakes (eight of them Grade I), through Sunday, April 7.  (Santa Anita’s complete Spring Stakes Schedule will be released at a later date).

A pair of Grade I stakes at seven furlongs, the $300,000 Malibu and the $300,000 La Brea, will headline the opening day program Dec. 26 and be complemented by the Grade II, $200,000 Mathis Brothers Mile (turf) and the Grade II, $300,000 San Antonio Stakes at a mile and one sixteenth.

The prestigious Grade I, $300,000 American Oaks, for 3-year-old fillies at a mile and one quarter on turf, will serve as Santa Anita’s final Grade I offering of the year on Saturday, Dec. 29.

The Grade I, $1 million Santa Anita Derby will be run on Saturday, April 6.  Won by this year’s undefeated Triple Crown Champion Justify, the Santa Anita Derby has now produced a total of 18 Kentucky Derby winners.

First run in February, 1935, the Grade I, $500,000 Santa Anita Handicap, which was won this past March by Horse of the Year candidate and recent $6 million Breeders’ Cup Classic champ Accelerate, will be contested for the 82nd time on Saturday, March 9.

Santa Anita’s Winter Meet racing will again be comprised of 60 racing dates, while the track’s total Winter/Spring offering, to run through Sunday, June 23, will offer fans and horsemen 102 combined racing days, dating back to Dec. 26.

SANTA ANITA’S GRADE I STAKES ROSTER, DEC. 26 THROUGH APRIL 7

Dec. 26  $300,000 Malibu Stakes

Dec. 26  $300,000 La Brea Stakes

Dec. 29  American Oaks (turf)

March 9 Santa Anita Handicap

March 9 Frank E. Kilroe Mile (turf)

March 16 Beholder Mile

April 6 Santa Anita Derby

April 6 Santa Anita Oaks

For a complete roster of Santa Anita’s Winter Meet stakes, see below: 

2018-2019 Santa Anita Stakes Schedule 
Run Date Race Age Distance Purse
Wed Dec 26 Malibu Stakes (Gr I) 3 YO 7 F $300,000
Wed Dec 26 Mathis Brothers Mile (Gr II) 3 YO 1 M (T) $200,000
Wed Dec 26 La Brea S (Gr I) F, 3 YO 7 F $300,000
Wed Dec 26 San Antonio S (Gr II) 3 & UP 1 1/16 M $300,000
Wed Dec 26 Lady Of Shamrock S F, 3 YO 1 M (T) $75,000
Fri Dec 28 Eddie Logan S 2 YO 1 M (T) $75,000
Sat Dec 29 American Oaks (Gr I) F, 3 YO 1 1/4 M (T) $300,000
Sat Dec 29 Robert J. Frankel S (Gr III) F/M, 3 & UP 1 1/8 M (T) $150,000
Sun Dec 30 Blue Norther S F, 2 YO 1 M (T) $75,000
Tue Jan 1 Joe Hernandez S 4 & UP abt 6 1/2 F (T) $75,000
Sat Jan 5 San Gabriel S (Gr II) 4 & UP 1 1/8 M (T) $200,000
Sat Jan 5 Sham S (Gr III) 3 YO 1 M $100,000
Sun Jan 6 Santa Ynez S (Gr II) F, 3 YO 7 F $200,000
Sat Jan 12 Las Cienegas S (Gr III) F/M, 4 & UP abt 6 1/2 F (T) $100,000
Sat Jan 12 La Canada S (Gr II) FM, 4 & UP 1 1/16 M $200,000
Sun Jan 13 Kalookan Queen S FM, 4 & UP 6 1/2 F $75,000
Sat Jan 19 Palos Verdes S (Gr II) 4 & UP 6 F $200,000
Sun Jan 20 Astra S FM, 4 & UP 1 1/2 M (T) $75,000
Mon Jan 21 Megahertz S (Gr III) FM, 4 & UP 1 M (T) $100,000
Sat Jan 26 Cal Cup Turf Sprint S 3 YO (CA) abt 6 1/2 F (T) $100,000
Sat Jan 26 Sunshine Millions F/M Turf Sprint F & M, 4 & UP (CA) abt 6 1/2 F (T) $150,000
Sat Jan 26 California Cup Sprint 4 & UP (CA ) 6 F $150,000
Sat Jan 26 Unusual Heat Turf Classic 4 & UP (CA) 1 1/8 M (T) $200,000
Sun Jan 27 Clockers’ Corner S ( R ) 4 & UP ( R ) abt 6 1/2 F (T) $75,000
Sat Feb 2 San Pasqual S (Gr II) 4 & UP 1 1/8 M $200,000
Sat Feb 2 Robert B. Lewis S (Gr III) 3 YO 1 1/16 M $150,000
Sat Feb 2 San Marcos S (Gr II) 4 & UP 1 1/4 M (T) $200,000
Sun Feb 3 Baffle S 3 YO abt 6 1/2 F (T) $75,000
Sat Feb 9 Thunder Road S (Gr III) 4 & UP 1 M (T) $100,000
Sat Feb 9 Las Virgenes S (Gr II) F, 3 YO 1 M $200,000
Sun Feb 10 Sweet Life S F, 3 YO abt 6 1/2 F (T) $75,000
Sun Feb 10 San Vicente S (Gr II) 3 YO 7 F $200,000
Sat Feb 16 Wishing Well S ( R ) FM, 4 & UP ( R ) abt 6 1/2 F (T) $75,000
Sat Feb 16 Santa Monica S (G II) FM, 4 & UP 7 F $250,000
Mon Feb 18 California Cup Derby 3 YO (CA) 1 1/16 M $200,000
Mon Feb 18 California Cup Oaks F, 3 YO (CA) 1 M (T) $200,000
Sat Feb 23 Buena Vista S (Gr II) F/M, 4 & UP 1 M (T) $200,000
Sun Feb 24 Spring Fever S F/M, 4 & UP (CA) 6 F $100,000
Sat Mar 2 Pasadena S 3 YO 1 M (T) $200,000
Sun Mar 3 Tiznow S 4 & UP (CA) 1 M $100,000
Sat Mar 9 San Felipe S (Gr II) 3 YO 1/1/16 M $500,000
Sat Mar 9 China Doll S F, 3 YO 1 M (T) $75,000
Sat Mar 9 Santa Anita Handicap (Gr I) 4 & UP 1 1/4 M $500,000
Sat Mar 9 Frank E. Kilroe Mile  (Gr I) 4 & UP 1 M (T) $400,000
Sat Mar 9 San Carlos S (Gr II) 3 & UP 7 F $200,000
Sun Mar 10 Santa Ysabel S (Gr III) F, 3 YO 1 1/16 M $100,000
Sat Mar 16 San Simeon S (Gr III) 3 & UP abt 6 1/2 F (T) $100,000
Sat Mar 16 Beholder S (Gr I) F/M, 3 & UP 1 M $400,000
Sun Mar 17 Irish O’Brien S F/M, 4 & UP (CA) abt 6 1/2 F (T) $100,000
Sat Mar 23 San Luis Rey S (Gr II) 4 & UP 1 1/2 M (T) $200,000
Sun Mar 24 Sensational Star S 4 & UP (CA) abt 6 1/2 F (T) $100,000
Sat Mar 30 Santa Ana S (Gr II) F/M, 4 & UP 1 1/4 (T) $200,000
Sun Mar 31 Santana Mile 4 & UP 1 M $75,000
Sat Apr 6 Santa Anita Derby (Gr I) 3 YO 1 1/8 M $1,000,000
Sat Apr 6 Echo Eddie S 3 YO (CA ) 6 1/2 F $200,000
Sat Apr 6 Evening Jewel S F, 3 YO (CA) 6 1/2 F $200,000
Sat Apr 6 Santa Anita Oaks (Gr I) F, 3 YO 1 1/16 M $400,000
Sat Apr 6 Providencia S (Gr III) F, 3 YO 1 1/8 M (T) $150,000
Sat Apr 6 Royal Herione S (Gr II) F/M, 4 & UP 1 M (T) $200,000
Sun Apr 7 Las Flores S (Gr III) F/M, 4 & UP 6 F $100,000